Curriculum Introduction

At Templemoor Infant and Nursery School the children are at the heart of our curriculum. The curriculum at our school is delivered through two phases;

Early Years Foundation Stage (Nursery and Reception) where we follow the Early Years curriculum. In EYFS there are 7 learning areas.

The 3 ‘Prime Areas’ are: Communication and Language; Physical Development; Personal, Social and Emotional Development.

The 4 ‘Specific Areas’ (through which the 3 Prime Areas are strengthened and applied) are: Literacy; Mathematics; Understanding the World; Expressive Arts and Design’.

Key Stage 1 (Year 1 and Year 2) where we follow the National Curriculum, which identifies the subjects, the skills and the content to be taught to children.

To see our Long Term Curriculum Plans for each school year, please go to the appropriate Year Group Curriculum page, by using the curriculum menu. For further information about the school curriculum please contact your child's class teacher. 

A useful guide to the National Curriculum can be downloaded below:
To access the National Curriculum for Key Stage 1, click on the link below:
At Templemoor Infant and Nursery School, we believe in providing an excellent and exciting curriculum for all of our children. For this reason, we have chosen to adopt the Cornerstones Creative Curriculum, which we feel best fits with the ethos and values of our school. We use the Cornerstones topics throughout school, from Foundation Stage to Year 2.

What is Cornerstones Creative Curriculum?

The Cornerstones curriculum was created by real teachers. The topics support the needs of children, schools and the National Curriculum. The unique Cornerstones approach centres on the belief that children learn better when their interests and fascinations are allowed to flourish, where they are encouraged to explore subjects in a variety of ways.

The approach is based on a four-stage teaching philosophy: Engage, Develop, Innovate, Express; the four 'cornerstones' of learning.


During the Engage stage children will:-
  • have memorable first-hand experiences - for example going on a visit outside the classroom or inviting a specialist visitor into the classroom.
  • have WOW experiences - Investigate and Discover.
  • be introduced in exciting ways to the new topic or theme.
  • begin initial research and set enquiry questions.
  • have lots of opportunity to make observations.
  • develop spoken language skills.
  • take part in sensory activities.
  • have a great deal of fun, allowing them to fully 'engage' with their new topic.


During the Develop stage children will:-
  • dig much deeper to develop their skills, knowledge and understanding of a topic across the curriculum
  • practice their newfound skills
  • compose, make, do, build, investigate, explore, write for different purposes, read across the curriculum
  • research their own questions and those posed by others
  • follow new pathways of enquiry based on their own interests


During the Innovate stage children will:-
  • apply previous skills, knowledge and understanding in real life contexts
  • be challenged with real or imagined problems and situations to solve using knowledge and skills from the earlier stages
  • be inspired with imaginative and creative opportunities
  • have time to re-visit skills, knowledge and understanding not grasped during the develop stage


During the Express stage children will:-

  • become the performers, the experts, the informers
  • share their achievements with others in many different ways.......parents, class mates and the school community
  • evaluate finished products/processes
  • tie learning back to the beginning
  • celebrate
The Cornerstones topics are fully in line with the requirements of the National Curriculum and cross curricular learning is a key part of the planning process. Further information specific to each year group can be found by going to the Year Group tab under the curriculum section of our school website.